

October 18, 2011

Press Release re: Justice Ian Binnie

The Board of Trustees of the Toronto Lawyers Association ("TLA") is pleased to announce that the winner of the TLA's Award of Distinction for 2012 is the Honourable Justice Ian C. Binnie. Justice Binnie is soon to retire from the Supreme Court of Canada.

The TLA Award of Distinction is given to Toronto lawyers or judges who exhibit excellence in their field, and in recognition of the recipient's integrity and contribution to the law and to the legal profession.

The past winners of the award are listed below.

The Awards of Distinction reception will be held **Thursday March 1**, **2012 at** One King West.

For information regarding ticket sales, please consult the TLA website (www.tlaonline.com) or call 416-327-5700.

Sam Marr President Toronto Lawyers Association

TLA Past Award of Distinction Recipients

2011

- 1. Derry Millar
- 2. The Honourable Justice Colin Campbell

2009

- 3. The Association in Defence of the Wrongly Convicted
- 4. Ronald G. Slaght, QC

2008

- 1. The Honourable Peter Cory
- 2. Linda R. Rothstein,

2007

- 1. The Honourable Dennis R. O'Connor,
- 2. Benjamin Zarnett,

2006

1. The Honourable R. Roy McMurtry, Chief Justice of Ontario

2005

- 1. Marlys A. Edwardh,
- 2. Warren K. Winkler,

2004

- 1. Sheila Block,
- 2. The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage

2003

- 1. Austin M. Cooper, Q.C.,
- 2. Willson A. McTavish,

2002

- 1. The Honourable Mr. Justice James M. Farley,
- 2. Malcolm L. Heins,

2001

- 1. Peter W. Hogg, Q.C.,
- 2. Martin Teplitsky, Q.C.,

2000

- 1. The Honourable Madam Justice Susan E. Lang
- 2. John D. Honsberger, Q.C.